Pentel GraphGear 1000

I got this beautiful pencil last week, and after using it for a few days, I’m ready to say my two cents about it.

Pentel labels this pen as a drafting pencil, but I use it for just everyday use. I don’t even know what “drafting” is. It’s a heavier pencil, so I only use it for 0.5mm lead. I have a lighter pencil for 0.3 lead, and I still break the lead all the time.

The most unique feature of this pen is the retractable sleeve which comes out when you press on the top button. It serves to protect the tip from bending and whatnot while it’s being thrown around in your bag, pocket or pencil case. When you squeeze the spring clip, the tip retracts into the barrel of the pencil, and it’s almost as distracting as having a clicking ball point pen.

The writing experience is very smooth, and the round barrel design prevents the lead from being over-used on one side, and ripping the paper on the upstroke as with the Staedtler Triplus Micro. I usually like to remove the clips from my pencils because they get in the way, but the angled design keeps my hand from being caught in the clip.

The pencil comes in five different thicknesses, from 0.3 to 0.9, and you can even buy them all in a set. Each thickness is associated with one colour rubber grip. If you want a blue, or green grip for a 0.5mm pencil, that’s just too bad.

The hardness indicator is poorly designed. You have to unscrew the tip of the pencil to adjust the indicator, but it’s hard to get a grip on it. If you unscrew the grip of the pencil, you end up taking the pencil apart. This isn’t a problem for me because I only use HB lead, but it’s a little embarrassing when I’m trying to demonstrate the pencil.

The GraphGear 1000 is a sturdy pen that feels like it will last when you hold it in your hands. It’s a pleasure to write with, and fun to click when you’re stuck in a boring meeting.

If you’re in Toronto and want to buy this pen, look elsewhere. It’s incredibly difficult to get this pencil in Toronto. I had to buy it on e-bay.

It’s my most impressive pencil thus far, and hopefully will be for sometime before I break my bank.

Bookmark and Share

Comments
3 Responses to “Pentel GraphGear 1000”
  1. guest says:

    glad to know am not the only engineer wanting a cool pencil

  2. buzzy says:

    UW mech engie here!
    if you like this, there’s a pen version of this exact model
    also consider Pilot S10 series

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] comfortable writing with the Graph1000.  It’s the perfect weight: not too heavy like the Graphgear 1000, and not too light like those 10 cent BIC […]



Leave a Reply

  • September 2008
    S M T W T F S
    « Aug   Oct »
     123456
    78910111213
    14151617181920
    21222324252627
    282930  
