MikTex. Vista. Problems!

I am not a latex pro.  I use TexnicCenter as an IDE, and I use pretty basic functionalities.  Every once in awhile, I have to use packages, and today, I was having major problems installing packages.

Each time I tried to build the .tex file, my screen would go dark, and a window would appear, asking me to “cancel or allow.”  I knew that MikTex was trying to auto-install a package that I was including, but after Vista paused the building to ask me to cancel or allow, the program would hang.  Even after I “allowed,” if I tried to build it again, the same thing would happen.

I tried it a few times, and I tried to uninstall/reinstall the two programs, to no avail.

Here’s the trick.  When you install MikTex, you have to choose the “ask me each time” option in the auto-install-packages window.  That’s it.  Then, when you use a package for the first time, a window will pop up, and it’ll say “install package?” and you’ll say yes.  Then Vista will ask you to cancel or allow.  Allow, and then the build will hang again.  No problem.  Stop the build, and build again.  This time, it will work.

What a stupid workaround.

Bookmark and Share

Leave a Reply

  • November 2008
    S M T W T F S
    « Oct   Dec »
     1
    2345678
    9101112131415
    16171819202122
    23242526272829
    30  
