A Subway in Richmond Hill

There are talks of extending the Yonge subway line to Highway 7, in Richmond Hill.

This is amazing news, especially for me, as I live in Richmond Hill.

The transit commission has been spewing “good news” items since its last big bomb, that it would be charging parking fees to Metropass holders.  I think the purpose is to get people thinking positively about the TTC.

Well, bringing the subway to Highway 7 will preclude the problem of parking at Finch, since Richmond Hill Centre offers free parking.  I bet they will be getting rid of that as soon as the subway comes up.

One question is how they’ll manage the fees.  There are a few buses in scarborough that cross Steeles Avenue, and when they do, customers need to pay an extra fee.  I don’t know how they’ll do it for the subway.  Also, Viva will lose so much of their ridership south of Hwy 7, which may be a problem because its payment system is honour based.  I don’t think I’ll want to pay $3 for a ride from Hwy 7 to Bernard Avenue, although I’m sure I would pay because of my fear of being caught.

There would have to be some major consolidation and partnerships between the transit systems, and I can already predict that it will be a huge headache.

As for the commuters, it’s nothing but good.

Bookmark and Share

Leave a Reply

  • January 2009
    S M T W T F S
    « Dec   Feb »
     123
    45678910
    11121314151617
    18192021222324
    25262728293031
