Starstruck by RENT

I went to watch RENT last week.  I think I was undeserving.

Every time I go to the theatre, I make a choice about how much I want to prepare for the show.  I usually avoid synopses, but I often acquire the soundtrack and learn all the music.  Sometimes I can’t because I’m too busy, and sometimes I don’t because I don’t care.  I wish I could clone myself and see how much I would enjoy shows if I prepared for them, or if I didn’t.

It’s slightly unbelievable that I’ve never watched RENT, the musical, the movie, or know any of the songs.  A friend suggested that I go as is, not knowing anything, so I went just as I am.

I feel bad!  I felt like I was a phony that didn’t even deserve to be there.  I didn’t even recognize the original Broadway actors, which was supposed to be part of the big draw.  As a rock opera, most words were sung, not spoken.  Since I didn’t know the songs, I couldn’t pick up every word, and I ended up missing most of the story.

I was talking to a few of my friends a few days later, and it turned out that I completely misinterpreted the story.  Oops.

On the plus side, the actor playing Maureen came on the stage after the theatre emptied and I totally freaked out.  Hilariously, not only did I not know the actor’s name, I didn’t even know her character’s name.  Ha.

I thought the show was a little bit overwhelming in terms of the amount of stuff going on on the stage, and I guess my experience has proven it to be a little inaccessible to the average layperson.  I totally didn’t hate it.  In fact, I think I needed to see it.  It’s just one of those things you just need to do.  I’m glad I got the opportunity, even though I didn’t completely get it.  I guess from now on, I should prepare before I go.

Going to watch South Pacific in August.  Must prepare!

Leave a Reply

  • January 2010
    S M T W T F S
    « Dec   Feb »
     12
    3456789
    10111213141516
    17181920212223
    24252627282930
    31  
