Bad Blue Heron – Noodler’s Ink

Bad Blue Heron is the first in Noodler’s Warden series.  When I read the specs on this ink, I was really excited; it was designed to be completely unalterable.  Having been a fountain pen user for the past 3 years, I know how devastating it is when you flick one drop of water onto your work.  Everything disappears…without a trace!  I thought it would be perfect to have waterproof ink for things that get a lot of wear & tear, like my class notes and my date book.

I noticed the ink had a very strong smell, but who cares!  The ink is a nice colour, blue-green, and the ink is a little thicker than other inks.

Over the Christmas holidays, I stopped writing for a few weeks, and when I went back to school, my pens had dried out, as expected.

It took me awhile to get my BBH pens flowing again, but the most devastating thing was the damage to my pen.

That’s right, the ink damaged my pen.

It’s not a huge deal, just the gold-coloured paint on the grip of my pen.  But it’s my best and favourite pen.

I brought it into my pen store, and they told me that this sort of damage was not covered under the warranty, and that Noodlers pens were known for damaging pens.

Damn it!  I’m paying to get my grip replaced, and I will never buy another bottle of Noodler’s again.  NEVER.

Comments
3 Responses to “Bad Blue Heron – Noodler’s Ink”
  1. Zobeid Zuma says:

    I hope you don’t mind if I ask a few questions about this incident. In the past there have been rumors going around about Noodler’s inks causing damage, but it’s been very hard to verify any concrete examples of this happening.

    I’m peering at the photo, but it’s hard for me to tell exactly what type of damage I’m seeing. Did it corrode away the metal plating, or create small pits, or was there some sort of deposit stuck to the surface? (Or both?)

    You wrote that you allowed the pen to dry out for “a few weeks” with ink in it. You may not be aware, but this is widely regarded as a big no-no for fountain pens, regardless of what kind of ink you are using. I don’t think it’s fair to blame Noodler’s for the result.

    • jysung says:

      Hello Zobeid,

      Thanks for reading my post.
      I was recently thinking about this, because I did indeed stop using the ink in my Sonnet, and I did have the grip replaced…but I noticed the same damage on the ring. Alas, it couldn’t have been Noodler’s BBH. I am very nice to my pen now, so I don’t know what could have caused the corrosion. Maybe it’s the Sonnet!

      As for the damage in the image, it was the metal plating that got corroded, or chipped away. It was definitely not anything stuck to the surface.

      However, I am sorry to say that I did lose (yet another) pen to Noodler’s BBH. My Parker Vector’s feed system is completely dead. The ink flow got crappier (like when you’re writing with insufficient ink in the feed), and then it stopped working altogether. Now it’s like…a dip-pen. Unlike other inks, soaking the feed system in water doesn’t seem to help. Oh well. It’s just a Vector.

  2. Zobeid Zuma says:

    I do have one suggestion you might try with the Vector. If you have some household ammonia, you might try giving it a bit of soak with that, and see if it loosens up the clog. I haven’t tried this myself, but I’ve heard ammonia mentioned specifically as a remedy for Bad Blue Heron residue.

Leave a Reply

  • February 2010
    S M T W T F S
    « Jan   Mar »
     123456
    78910111213
    14151617181920
    21222324252627
    28  
