Twitter me > |real me|

This is probably old news for most, but a new realization for me, so here goes.

I know a lot of people think that Twitter is a weird phenomenon where losers with nothing better to do talk about what they’re eating, where they are, what they’re wearing.  Myself and many other Tweeters, I’m sure, disagree.  Thus, I’m careful about what I tweet about.  I reserve my tweets for things that I really care about, things that I think may be of interest to others, and things that excite me so much I can’t contain it (positive and negative).

Of course what ends up happening is that my twitter feed becomes a strangely exaggerated view of myself.  I only have a handful of interests that are worth publicizing (i.e. interesting enough but unique enough that others may not already know), so my interests become reduced to a few select and odd collection.

If you didn’t know me, you would probably think that I was choir-obssessed, super angry, makeup expert, shopaholic, WIND mobile fanatic.  In fact, only a few of these are true, and even then, to a lesser degree.

I don’t know anything about makeup, are you kidding me?  I just apply the minimal required war paint for a woman of my age.  I don’t shop a lot.  Really, I hate shopping for clothes.  In fact, I think I post about these two things in particular specifically for the benefit of the public.  I know how popular these topics are online.  I post not to boast about my skills, but to share information that may benefit others.  Like sales.

So is the twitter me the real me?  I think it overinflates me in both directions.  It makes me look like I know more than I actually do.  And it makes me look like I’m angrier than I actually am.  Since I figured it out, I’ve been a little hesitant to tweet.  How many times can you read about how loud my office is before you stop following me?

I’m sure all you tweeters had figured this out already.  I’m just reflecting on it.

Comments
5 Responses to “Twitter me > |real me|”
  1. Wan-lan Wang says:

    Hi friend,
    I have read your prrof of Bonferroni’s inequality.
    It seems that you should correct some mistakes in your proof.
    Best Wishes
    Yours Wan-lan Wang

  2. soohan says:

    By this logic, I would be… I have no idea. There is no rhyme or reason to my tweeting.

  3. Anonymous says:

    Your such a stupid cunt lol
    Twitter affecting your mood

    • jysung says:

      Funny, the thing I find most offensive about this comment is the misuse of “your” rather than calling me stupid or a cunt.

  4. Anonymous says:

    Sometimes I lie about my tweets
    to make my life more intresting.
    How pathetic. 😦

Leave a Reply

  • May 2010
    S M T W T F S
    « Apr   Jul »
     1
    2345678
    9101112131415
    16171819202122
    23242526272829
    3031  
