Why I Love, Love, Love Laywine’s Pens & Organizers

Though I’ve been using fountain pens nearly exclusively for about 4 years, there’s no doubt that they aren’t the most practical pen for some uses.  For example, writing on duplicate paper, where you need to push hard.  Or cheques, where permanence matters.  So I thought it was time for me to purchase a non-fountain pen.

My medium of choice was gel, because rollerballs are water-based (not waterproof), and I can NOT handle the 2 strokes it takes for ball point pens to work each time you pick it up to write with it.  Of course it’s very difficult to downgrade from hundred-dollar pens to 2 or 3-dollar blister-pack pens, so I decided to purchase a nice pen that I could refill for years to come.

When I went into Laywine’s (Bay and Cumberland, Yorkville Toronto), the staff and I discovered that my “gel” requirement was making it difficult to find a pen that suited my needs.  All the fancy pen companies made rollerball and fountain pens, but not gel pens.  After looking at a few “school pen”-style gel pens, I explained to the staff that I really didn’t want to buy a school pen.

Peter Laywine (the proprietor) personally came to my service, and took apart a Faber Castell Ambition rollerball pen, inserted a Parker gel refill into it.  Boy, does he ever know his pens!  Although the brands (and of course the models) weren’t matched, the refill fit perfectly, and I went home happily, with a brand new gel pen.  He even threw in two free refills, and promised to order packs of refills for future use.

And that’s why I pay a premium for stationery.

As for the pen itself, it’s a beautiful piece of hardware.  Heavy, but not overwhelming.  The body is made of resin, but has a satin wood-grain finish to it.  The best part is the beautiful engraving on the pen lid.  Just perfect.

Image courtesy of faber-castell.us

Comments
2 Responses to “Why I Love, Love, Love Laywine’s Pens & Organizers”
  1. tms says:

    I’m new to pen collecting and I found Laywine’s early in my new hobby. In the last 2 months, I’ve spend a significant amount of money with them and they have worked hard to get my business. Until today. I went looking for a pen, ink and supplies. While I was there, I wanted to exchange 2 lined notebooks I bought previously for identical notebooks without lines. Because I was outside the 30 day exchange, they said no.

    It is, of course, their choice but with a customer that has shown the loyalty I have and spent the money I have, I was very disappointed with this decision. For a pen, this policy makes sense but for a notebook that is still sealed and saleable, this seems to be a bad business decision for an organization that is competing with the Internet based on customer service.

    I’m very disappointed that my loyalty meant so little to these people.

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...


Leave a Reply

