Why women say they’re “fine” when they’re not

You KNOW you do it.  Or, you know you’ve had it done to you.

Okay, so I like to pretend that I don’t do it, but I know that it’s a lie.  Let’s face the music and try to enlighten our men, just a little bit.

Sometimes, when expectations aren’t met, you doubt yourself for having them.  Then you feel like the reason you’re upset is unjustified, and you feel embarassed for feeling upset.  I also fear that if I did share my reasons, that I would appear petty, and seem more work than I’m worth.

But that doesn’t mean I don’t want to be appeased.  I’m still upset, and I do want to be consoled.  I just don’t want to be judged for feeling bad.  Like it says in that book Men are from Mars, Women are from Venus, women need to have their feelings validated.  But hey, I know what world we live in, so sometimes I just keep it in, to minimize the risk of invalidation.

Hey, optimality again: minimization!

Sadly, I’m not sure that I can give advice beyond insight.  I don’t think there’s anything you can actually do to make it better, boys.  Just keep trying until she decides to give in.

Leave a Reply

  • January 2011
    S M T W T F S
    « Dec   Feb »
     1
    2345678
    9101112131415
    16171819202122
    23242526272829
    3031  
